Recognition Program Celebrates Accomplishments

April 14, 2016
2016 Lee Johnston Leadership Award recipients with School of Environment and Natural Resources Alumni Society representatives.
Held at the Ohio Union on April 7, 2016, the 63rd Annual Recognition Banquet for the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES)  themed “roaring recognition” celebrated the achievements of undergraduates, faculty and staff.

Congratulations to the following School of Environment and Natural Resources (SENR) undergraduates recognized for their academic and leadership achievements.

Five SENR students were recognized as Newcomb Scholars. The Newcomb Scholar award recognizes students in each class year with the highest cumulative grade point averages within the CFAES. 
• Cheryl Fladung, Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability
• Annaliese Koontz, Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability
• Mara Momenee, Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability
• Jordan Reding, Environmental Science
• Sammie Keitlen, Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability
Four SENR students were selected by the School of Environment and Natural Resources Alumni Society to receive the 2016 Lee Johnston Leadership Award, which recognizes exemplary student leaders. SENR students receiving this award include:
• Emma Brown, Environmental Science
• Nick Doarn, Environmental Science
• Ella Weaver, Environmental Science
• Taylor Windatt, Natural Resource Management
Natalie Roemer, majoring in Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability was recognized with an Outstanding Internship Award.
Student organizations and academic teams, as well as education abroad experiences and students were also highlighted as part of the evening program.
Congratulations also to Gina Hnytka on receipt of the Outstanding Service to Students award for her leadership, engagement and service to SUSTAINS (Students Understanding Sustainability and Taking Action to Improve Nature and Society), an Ohio State learning community targeted at undergraduates studying or interested in the environment.  Gina is Program Manager for Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability (EEDS) and Academic Programs in the Department of Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics.