CFAES Give Today

School of Environment and Natural Resources



  1. spring tulips

    Excellence in Community Engagement Recognized

    Apr 16, 2024

    Three programs in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences have been recognized as 2024 Programs of Excellence in Engaged Scholarship by the Office of Outreach and Engagement at The Ohio State University. The three programs are led by faculty in the School of Environment and Natural Resources (SENR).

    Please join SENR in congratulating these three programs >>


  2. Award for 2024 CFAES Distinguished Seniors

    Ohio State CFAES names its top seniors

    Mar 6, 2024

    The most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) will be presented to 23 seniors in April. The Distinguished Senior Award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership. Find out who will be recognized >>

  3. Members of the CFAES Crisis Rapid Response Team for East Palestine, from left to right, Tracy Kitchel, CFAES senior associate dean and director of faculty and staff affairs; Ellen Essman; Karen Chou, Michigan State; Jeff Hattey; Haley Shoemaker; Eric Barrett; Michael Bisesi, College of Public Health; Matt Teegarden; Sam Custer; and Cathann A. Kress, Ohio State vice president for agricultural administration and CFAES dean. Photo: Ken Chamberlain.

    CFAES Crisis Rapid Response Team receives Spirit of the Land-Grant Award for work in East Palestine

    Jul 19, 2023

    SENR faculty member Jeff Hattey, a professor of soil science and state Extension specialist in soil management, provided the first research-based soil science response and co-led the on-site work as part of the CFAES Crisis Rapid Response Team for East Palestine, which was honored last week with the 2023 Spirit of the Land-Grant Award. Learn how CFAES immediately implemented its Crisis Rapid Response Team, which brings together experts from CFAES and OSU Extension to work with families in East Palestine. Read more >>

  4. Greg Lipps takes a close look at a hellbender salamander that he pulled from an Ohio river. (Photo by Jeff Belth)

    Greg Lipps receives Columbus Zoo’s Commitment to Conservation Award

    Jul 12, 2023

    COLUMBUS—The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium has named Greg Lipps of The Ohio State University as recipient of its 2023 Commitment to Conservation Award.
    Lipps, a leader in Ohio amphibian and reptile conservation in Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Resources (CFAES), understands the vital role zoos play in conservation. He also serves as the amphibian & reptile conservation coordinator in the Ohio Biodiversity Conservation Partnership, a long-term relationship between Ohio State and the Ohio Division of Wildlife. Read more >>

  5. Three individuals standing and holding awards.

    Team recognized for excellence

    Jun 22, 2023

    The Agriculture Food and Human Values Society (AFHVS) presented an award of excellence to members at their annual meeting in Boston, MA on June 3, 2023. The team of Dr. Shoshanah Inwood of The Ohio State University, Dr. Florence Becot of the National Farm Medicine Center at the Marshfield Clinic Research Institute and Dr. Andrea Rissing of Arizona State University received the AFHVS Excellence in Scholarship Award. 

  6. Inductees to the ENR Honorary 100 (top L to R): Jon Gerken, John O'Meara (bottom L to R) Ric Queen and Dorothy Teater

    New members of the Honorary 100 inducted

    Jun 7, 2023

    Four champions of Ohio's environment were recognized at the Environmental Professionals Network breakfast and field-tour event on June 5, 2023. Held on World Environment Day, the event recognized Jon Gerken, John O'Meara, Ric Queen, and Dorothy Teater, who were inducted into the ENR Honorary 100. The Honorary 100 recognizes individuals with a special interest in the school, its programs and activities.

    Eric Toman, interim director of the School of Environment and Natural Resources presided over the induction ceremony and Cathann A. Kress, Ohio State’s vice president for agricultural administration and dean of CFAES shared words in acknowledgement of Ohio's envrionment and its champions. To date there have been 134 individuals inducted into the Honorary 100. Learn more about the Honorees and the Honorary 100.

  7. Postdoctoral Scholar Mentor of the Year

    Feb 28, 2023

    Simon Power, a Post Doctoral Scholar in the School of Environment and Natural Resources was chosen as one of three Postdoctoral Scholar Mentor of the Year Award Recipients! This award recognizes exceptional mentoring abilities and service to the trainees and colleagues they interact with in their scholarship! Please join SENR in congratulating Simon on this award!

  8. National Association for Interpretation recognizes lecturer

    Feb 10, 2023

    Congratulations to Sue MacLaughlin Rasche, who is the 2022 recipient of the Master Front-Line Interpreter Award from the National Association for Interpretation (NAI). The award is presented to a NAI member who has worked for five or more years in the profession, with current duties at least sixty (60) percent front-line interpretation and demonstrated mastery of interpretive techniques, program development and design of creative projects.

  9. Bob Gates at podium with award.

    Faculty member receives Ohio Wildlife Management Association's Annual Achievement Award

    Jan 24, 2023

    Dr. Robert Gates, associate professor of wildlife ecology and management in the School of Environment and Natural Resources recognized for outstanding contributions to wildlife research and management in Ohio.

  10. President of ENRAS at the podium welcoming guests.

    Reception recognizes ENR Honorary 100

    Oct 6, 2022

    The ENR Alumni Society and the School of Environment and Natural Resources (SENR) celebrated the 2020 inductees to the Honorary 100 on Sept. 30 at a reception held as part of the CFAES Alumni Homecoming Weekend of activities.